We have the winners of the competition for historical project

On Friday, June 10, at the Municipal Public Library in Opole, next door to the Museum, we organised the 17th edition of the educational session If not memory, then what? Education at places of national remembrance, on which we have extensively reported. Today, we are writing about the part which took place after the session, i.e. the final of the 14th edition of the national competition for historical project Before it’s not too late.

The competition was organised by the Central Museum of Prisoners-of-War, the Association of Friends of the CMJW, and the Starosta Office of Nysa County. It enjoyed the honorary patronage of: Prof. Piotr Gliński, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Sławomir Kłosowski, Voivode of Opole, Andrzej Buła, Marshall of the Opole Voivodship, the Opole Voivodeship Superintendent of Education, Michał Siek. The competition took place under the media patronage of Radio Opole, Radio Doxa, "Nowa Trybuna Opolska" and "Nowiny Nyskie".

The competition jury, composed of: Dr. Iwona Konopnicka – Chairwoman (Opole University), Dr. Ewelina Klimczak (the CMJW), Dr. Renata Kobylarz-Buła (the CMJW), Monika Sobczak (the CMJW), Dr. Kamil Weber (the CMJW), assessed 57 projects and awarded the following:

  • First Prize: Adam Mazurek, Tobiasz Żelichowski, Michał Burdek i Stanisław Koziarski from XIV Liceum Ogólnokształcącego in Wrocław for the project Shadows of  Burgweide, supervised by Dr. Alicja Krzyżanowska (186,5 pts.),
  • Second Prize: Kinga Chamik and Alina Ślimak from Zespół Szkół in Dobre Miasto for the project Learn from the past, supervised by Alina Ślimak (175,5 pts.),
  • Third Prize: Julia Fabiszewska, Ada Sadowska and Klaudia Mikołajczyk from Zespół Szkolno-Przedszkolny in Kikol for the project Radio programme ‘Memory’, supervised by Jolanta Kuczkowska (174,5 pts.),
  • Distinction: Adrian Pogroszewski, Aleks Ludwicki and Mikołaj Elak from Publiczna Szkoła Podstawowa No 3 in Pułtusk for the project ‘Conquer yourself’ – the story of a former prisoner of the KL Mauthausen, Zdzisław Kaźmirkiewicz, supervised by Katarzyna Apalińska (173,5 pts.).

Additionally,  the tutors of the winning projects were awarded with prize gifts and all participants received commemorative diplomas.

We would like to congratulate and thank everyone who participated in the competition. Also, we invite you to follow our website for information about the next edition of the competition.

We would like to cordially thank the institutions, organisations, companies and individuals who have supported our competition:

  • Krzysztof Skrzypek – President of the Management Board of  Energopol Trade Opole sp. z o.o.
  • Rajmund Adamietz – President of the Management Board of Adamietz sp. z.o.o 
  • Iwona Konopnicka – Chairperson of the Association of Friends of the Central Museum of Prisoners-of-War
  • Łukasz Sowada– Chairman of the Opole City Council
  • Tomasz Karpiński – Mayor of the Łambinowice Commune
  • Urszula Gawor – President of the Katyń Family Association in Opole
  • Andrzej Kruczkiewicz – Starosta of Nysa County
  • Henryk Lakwa – Starosta of Opole County
  • Edward Nycz – Director of the Institute of Pedagogical Sciences of Opole University
  • Michał Siek – Opole Voivodeship Superintendent of Education
  • Wiesław Skrzypek – Forest Inspector of the Tułowice Forest Inspectorate
  • Zbigniew Bednarski and Adam Sajdutka – AGROAS sp. z o.o. sp.k company.


news list